The man booker prize header

Complete list of Man Booker Prize Winners since 1969

The Man Booker Prize is a prestigious literary award for the best novel of the year – written in English and published in the United Kingdom.

Started in 1969, the aim of the prize was to increase the reading of quality fiction and to attract “the intelligent general audience”. In this spirit I hope to one day read all of these winners. To date I’ve read just 14 of the 51 titles.

How many have you read?

Year Title Author Yes! I’ve read it
2018 Milkman Anna Burns
2017 Lincoln in the Bardo George Saunders
2016 The Sellout Paul Beatty
2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings Marlon James
2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan YES 
2013 The Luminaries Eleanor Catton
2012 Bring up the Bodies Hilary Mantel YES
2011 The Sense of an Ending Julian Barnes YES
2010 The Finkler Question Howard Jacobson YES
2009 Wolf Hall Hilary Mantel YES
2008 The White Tiger Aravind Adiga YES
2007 The Gathering Anne Enright
2006 The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai
2005 The Sea John Banville
2004 The Line of Beauty Alan Hollinghurst
2003 Vernon God Little D.B.C. Pierre
2002 Life of Pi Yann Martel YES
2001 True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey
2000 The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood YES
My review
1999 Disgrace J.M. Coetzee YES
1998 Amsterdam Ian McEwan YES
1997 The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy YES
1996 Last Orders Graham Swift
1995 The Ghost Road (Book 3 Regeneration) Pat Barker
1994 How Late It Was, How Late James Kelman
1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Roddy Doyle
1992 The English Patient Michael Ondaatje

My review

1992 Sacred Hunger Barry Unsworth
1991 The Famished Road Ben Okri
1990 Possession A.S. Byatt
1989 The Remains of the Day Kazuo Ishiguro YES
My review
1988 Oscar and Lucinda Peter Carey
1987 Moon Tiger Penelope Lively
1986 The Old Devils Kingsley Amis
1985 The Bone People Keri Hulme
1984 Hotel du Lac Anita Brookner
1983 Life and Times of Michael K J.M. Coetzee
1982 Schindler’s Ark (Schindler’s List) Thomas Keneally  YES
1981 Midnight’s Children Salman Rushdie
1980 Rites of Passage William Golding
1979 Offshore Penelope Fitzgerald
1978 The Sea, The Sea Iris Murdoch
1977 Staying On Paul Scott
1976 Saville David Storey
1975 Heat and Dust Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974 The Conservationist Nadine Gordimer
1974 Holiday Stanley Middleton
1973 The Siege of Krishnapur J.G. Farrell
1972 G. John Berger
1971 In a Free State V.S. Naipaul
1970 The Elected Member Bernice Rubens
1969 Something to Answer For P.H. Newby

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s