The Fifth Season – N.K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season - Broken Earth Series

This is the way the world ends for the last time. It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world’s sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Awesome! Really enjoyed the The Fifth Season the first book of the Broken Earth series. Jemisin has deservedly won a hat trick of Hugo’s with this incredible trilogy.

If you’re looking for something different, give your imagination a trip. Into a world of seismic activity and near-extinction events; people with magical earth moving (literally) powers and stone eaters; relics of ancient and doomed civilisations and lore passed down.

A wildly brilliant and original world has been built in these pages. And yet it feels real and is relatable enough to our society and version of humanity to create a powerful and moving story – with power, race, relationships, sexuality, and family.

Highly recommend.

Let’s start with the end of the world, why don’t we? Get it over with and move on to more interesting things.

Who misses what they never, ever even imagined?

READ NOW: The Fifth Season: The Broken Earth, Book 1, WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD 2016

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


GENRE: Fantasy

PAGES: 468

AWARDS: Hugo Award Best Novel 2016

WHAT’S NEXT: Book 2 and 3 of course – also winners of the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2017 and 2018 respectively: The Obelisk Gate and The Stone Sky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s